515OmKGUyKL._SX308_BO1,204,203,200_

Synopsis

From the New York Times bestselling author of Sweet Ache comes a blistering new novel filled with danger, secrecy, and a desire that can’t be sated…
Foreign war correspondent Tanner Thomas is addicted to living on the edge. Needing the adrenaline rush of his job to help him cope with a personal loss, he throws himself back into the game, concentrating all his energy on getting the next big story. But when he meets his new photojournalist, Beaux Croslyn, he can’t help but feel like he’s losing his focus—and maybe risking more…
With secrets she won’t address, Beaux is far from your ordinary woman. Determined to keep her distance, she’s willing to pull Tanner in closer and hide behind the sparks flying between them. But as Beaux’s past begins to put their relationship—and their lives—at risk, Tanner’s determination to find the truth puts them both in jeopardy. 
He’s ready to chase her to the ends of the earth to find out if what they had was real, or if the danger surrounding them was just an exquisite heat fated to burn out….

Purchase Links

Amazon * Amazon UK * Amazon CA * Amazon AU * B & N * Kobo

christie review 5 star a

When I finished the first few pages of Hard Beat, I knew it was going to be something special! It was different, yet amazing, with a great plot, great writing, and well-developed characters!

Tanner is a famous foreign news correspondent who is returning to the war torn, devastated Middle East. He needs the “buzz and adrenaline” rush to help him heal his broken heart after losing his best friend and photographer, Stella, in the same place where he is now returning. He doesn’t realize his world will be turning on his axis again when he meets his new photographer, BJ, aka Beaux to those she likes. Without spoiling anything, Tanner will have to work hard to call her Beaux. The very first meeting the sparks zing between the two. At first, I didn’t know if the sparks were from hate or lust, but it turns out both, and what’s more of a turn on if there isn’t a bit of dislike and lust…it can be quite dangerous!!!

There are so many reasons why I fell in love with this book and the characters! I know I can only touch on a few in this review. The first aspect that caught my attention was the great character development. Tanner and Beaux are incredibly well-developed and complex characters that pull you into the story. Just when I thought I knew them, Bromberg revealed another even deeper level. I loved the fact that the entire book, except for a bonus at the end, was told in Tanner’s POV. It’s about time a male tells the story! Seeing the story from his perspective allowed me to see his deepest emotions, thoughts, and insecurities. When he became suspicious of Beaux, I did. When he was angry or in pain, I was. I felt like I was his closest confidante. When he lost it, I lost it…at one point, I was balling my eyes out. Now to Beaux, this is not a girl…she is all woman, strong, confident! There were time I liked her and times I didn’t, although, that was probably my protective nature towards Beau rearing its head. Bromberg was genius in the way she would give us subtle clues of Beaux. Were her feelings real for Tanner? What was she hiding? Is she really a photojournalist or something more?

I LOVED the story…it’s was the perfect mix of romance, steam, and intrigue with one heck of a plot twist thrown in! I didn’t see that one coming. I highly recommend reading Hard Beat if you like your romance with some substance, great characters, and awesome descriptive writing. I guarantee you will find yourself right in the harsh Middle East with Tanner and Beaux. You will feel the oppressive heat, you will see the cracks in the run down hotel, and you will smell all the exotic spices and scents. And, you will be nursing quite a book hangover!!!!

