514bferwBrL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

Synopsis

Sassy tomboy Ginger Atkinson would rather be captaining a deep-sea fishing boat than baking pies, yet she still wishes she had a man to bake for. Sure, the pretty redhead is happy running her late father’s Turtle Island ferry business, but everyone in the world is finding love except her. Stuck on the wrong side of thirty, she’s trying to accept singlehood by building a dream home—for one.

In high school, Carter Ridley loved to sneak off with his good friend Ginger to watch the sun rise over the ocean. But after graduation, his path took a different route. One that, unlike Ginger’s, did get him the spouse and house of his dreams. At least, until a scandal shattered everything.

Running from his heartbreak, Carter returns to Turtle Island, where he discovers that Ginger is all grown up. His teenage friend has become the woman he’s always wanted. But will Carter’s pain scare him away from a chance at happiness? Or can he be the loving partner Ginger’s been looking for?

Purchase Links

Amazon * B & N Paperback

christie review 5 star a

I absolutely fell in love with Carter and Ginger and Turtle Island! I love a book that I can completely immerse myself in and forget everyday life for just a little while, and On the Rocks did just that!
I loved Carter and Ginger’s story. I am a sucker for a good friends to lovers story, and this one has to be one of my favorites. Both Carter and Ginger grew up on the island and were friends growing up. Carter left with dreams of what his life would be. Ginger has made her life on Turtle Island taking over her father’s business after he died. Carter’s life didn’t turn out at all the way he expected it to, and he’s returned home to help his sister and to heal. Ginger’s life is good except she hasn’t found the right man to share it with. As the two reconnect, they may have discovered in each other what they have been missing all along, each other.
On the Rocks had all the ingredients for not only a great romance but a great book overall. I fell in love with both Carter and Ginger. When I first met Carter, he came across as a bitter man fed up with life and people. Oh, his attitude was HORRIBLE, but as I began to see him as the boy Ginger remembered, I felt myself warming up to him and eventually came to love him. I saw that he had a wonderful heart, just damaged by love. And boy, I didn’t know he was hiding the sex god he became in the bedroom. WOW!!! I loved Ginger from the very beginning! There isn’t anything not to love about her. She’s the girl I would want as my best friend. Who can’t love a girl who knows how to handle a boat and can take a group of men out on her boat for fishing expeditions? But, sometimes she sells herself short. I enjoyed seeing the two of them bring out the best in one another and give each other the ability to love and accept themselves and each other.
And to make the book even more perfect was Kim Law’s ability to write with so much description. I could see the town, the beach, and the characters so clearly. Because of that, I was sucked in from the beginning to the very end. I honestly could see this book made into a movie.
This was my first read by Kim Law, but it will not be my last. I plan on going back and reading the first two in the series. Not only did I fall in love with the characters and Turtle Island, I have fallen a little bit in love with you too, Kim Law. You have definitely found a loyal reader in me!

***I received a free, advance copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my unbiased review.***

