Enter to Win a $25.00 eGift Card to Choice Book Seller

 

OFF THE HOOK
Fishing for Trouble #1
Laura Drewry
Releasing April 12, 2016
Loveswept

 

Synopsis

Welcome to The Buoys, a West Coast haven where love comes in with the tide. Perfect for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, the Fishing for Trouble series features three unforgettable brothers—each of whom is a great catch.

 

Major league
pitcher Liam O’Donnell knows his best days are probably behind him, but that
doesn’t mean he’s ready to retire and become a fishing guide. Still, after all
the time he’s spent chasing his dreams, he owes it to his brothers to pull his
weight around the lodge. The Buoys is their father’s legacy, and they can’t let
some developer take it from them. The one snag Liam isn’t counting on is a
blast from the past: his ex-wife.

The moment Kate Hadley steps out of the seaplane, she knows this assignment is
going to be trickier than she thought. She has to persuade the owners to
sell—and one of them is Liam O’Donnell. Ten years ago, she made the biggest
mistake of her life when she married Liam during a fling in Vegas. Now he’s her
only lifeline in the middle of nowhere. Kate’s trying to keep things cool, but
Liam just reminds her of the scorching few nights they spent together—and
tempts her to make new memories that are just as steamy as the old.

 

 

Purchase Links
Amazon | B & N | Google | iTunes | Kobo
 
Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Excerpt

They were almost to her cabin when she shocked the hell out of him by slipping her hand under his arm and nudging his shoulder with hers.

“You’re still a hotshot pitcher, you know. Don’t talk about that in the past tense.”

Liam blinked hard, then leaned in and pressed a slow kiss against her cheek. Half an inch, that’s how close he was to those soft, warm lips he remembered all too well, but no matter how much he ached to taste them again, he forced himself to pull back and smile down at her.

Besides his agent—who didn’t count, because Liam paid him to say it—Kate was the first and only one to even suggest he might have something left, and if she’d said it any other time or any other way, he might not have believed she was sincere.

But looking at her now, with her foot up on the porch, ready to go inside, there wasn’t the slightest trace of doubt in her eyes, just those damn bits of amber flickering like little beacons.

“I, uh . . .” Blowing out a hard breath, Liam shoved both hands through his hair, locked his fingers together, and took a step back. “I better go. It’d really screw things up here if we woke up married tomorrow.”

“Right. Good thinking,” she said, her mouth curling into a slow, knowing smile. “’Cause I promise you this, I won’t be nearly as nice the next time you divorce me.”

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

OFF THE HOOK_5christie review

4 and a half stars

Off the Hook is the third book I’ve read by Laura Drewry, and as with all of the others I’ve read by her, it was a great read! This is the beginning of a brand new series for her, and I must say, I’m really looking forward to reading it. This book is about Liam and Kate. Kate is sent by her boss to persuade the owner of a run-down lodge to sell to her firm. She is eager to prove herself to her boss, and if all goes well, she will be running The Buoys, but she has no idea the surprise that is awaiting her when she arrives. Liam is a major league baseball pitcher who is on the brink of his dream as well, returning to the major leagues after an arm injury has put him out. However, he wants to make sure his family’s lodge remains in his family, so he is home doing what he can to make that possible. The two shared an unforgettable week together ten years earlier, and neither has seen each other since then. So, imagine their surprise when they see each other. All sorts of emotions will eventually come to the surface, and each will question what their real dreams really are!

Drewry has a special way of slowly building her characters until I feel like I know them, and they become special friends to me. They are complex, flawed, and have a great sense of humor…much like regular human beings, and that is why I relate so well to them. Liam and Kate don’t just jump back into a relationship. They take their time, and they should, especially Kate. She’s already been burned by him before, and even though her feelings have never died for him, she has to protect her heart. The story is told from both POVs which I love because I like knowing what each character is thinking.

Not only does Drewry build great characters, but the story is strong as well as the setting. The way she describes The Buoys made me want to pack my bags and visit the lodge myself. I could see it clearly, I could smell the water and the woods, and yes, like Kate, I was a bit scared of the possibility of the animals in the wild. The character development, the pacing of the story, and her detailed setting all combine to make this a book I will remember. When you throw in a good second chance romance, it makes the book just about perfect. I can’t wait to pack my bags again and return to read the other characters’ stories!

Abou the author
USA Today
Bestselling
author, Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years
before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years
in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British
Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely
energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country
music, and the New York Yankees.
social links
 
 

 

Advertisements