Sometimes love speaks for itself…


WITHOUT WORDS
Delancey Stewart
Releasing May 22, 2017
Entangled Select
Synopsis

Sometimes love speaks for itself…

After an accident in the line of duty, firefighter Roberto DeRosa’s life is turned upside down. His career fighting fires is over, and he’s left with an uncertain future and an injury that makes communicating difficult for him. The only time words flow easily is when they’re lyrics and he has a guitar in his hands. Talking to women is definitely out, especially if they have bright blue eyes that seem to see right into his soul.

Dani Hodge is on the brink of realizing her dream of opening a small combination wine and book store in San Diego’s funky Ocean Beach neighborhood. But before she can open the doors, there’s work to be done, more work than she can do herself.

When the tattooed guy who completely ignored her at a bar walks by and offers her a hand wrangling a tile saw, Dani can’t afford to say no—and why would she say no to Mr. Strong and Silent when his stare conveys more than words could?

 

excerpt

Here’s what was strange about finding this girl again—not only had I recognized her instantly from fifteen feet away and from behind, but she was the first person I’d actually forced myself to stay and try to talk with in almost a year.

I’d said hello to people, spoken to strangers when I absolutely had to. But since I’d quit working with the therapists they’d assigned me after rehab, I hadn’t made myself communicate regularly. I’d decided I didn’t need to. Didn’t want to. I’d had enough of people staring at me and singling me out as different in high school. Forcing myself to interact with strangers in the name of therapy just felt like marching my issues out for judgment. And I wasn’t up for that. But here was this girl—Dani. Again. I didn’t expect to ever see her again after that night at the club, so it felt like maybe fate was throwing me a second chance.

And I didn’t think too hard for once. I took it.

 

Purchase Links

 
christie-review
5-star-a

I’m left without words…literally…I’m not sure I can come up with the adequate words for how phenomenal this book was. There aren’t enough stars to give it! I was moved to tears of sadness and tears of joy. It’s very rare to have characters affect me like these two did, especially Rob!

Rob is a man trapped in a dark place, shunning most people, except his inner circle. He was hurt badly in an accident as a firefighter. He has worked hard to heal his body, but he is still trying to find himself in the world. He has a hard time communicating with others, so he has decided it is better to live life alone. He does let his friends in but not completely. The only thing he trusts completely is his constant companion, his dog, Sampson. The only peace he has is playing his guitar and singing, but that begins to change when he lays eyes on Dani one night while he is singing.

Dani has also experienced darkness in her past, but it is a different kind than Rob’s. She has worked hard to put that behind her, but she still does struggle with trusting her heart to others with the exception of her sister, Amy. Yet, when she sees Rob, there is a pull, both physically and spiritually.

There is no denying the chemistry these two have, and they try so hard to deny it. They try to stay away from each other. Their minds tell them to run, but their bodies are pulling them toward each other. They begin slowly letting each other in, but how long will it be before one of them runs?

 

“Maybe two people with enough crap in their pasts could fill each other’s voids.” ~ Rob

 

I have never come across two characters who have found such a special place in my heart. They are opposites…Rob is darkness, and Dani is light! Stewart writes so well that Dani’s color and aura jump off the pages. She makes Rob want to be a part of life again, to belong to something. With the sweetness between these two, there is also heat and chemistry, and Stewart definitely knows how to build on that. She will leave you with butterflies in your stomach all while making your heart melt! All of these factors are combined perfectly to keep you flying through the book!

Delancey Stewart is a new writer to me, but she definitely has flown up to the top of my list of favorite authors. Without Words is well-written with fantastic character development. She manages to make characters out of a sweet woman, Dani’s Nan, who is no longer here, and a sweet, loving dog, Sampson. Add in Trent and Amy and this book is PERFECTION! I’m hoping we might get Amy’s story later on!

rob
abou-the-author

Delancey Stewart writes contemporary romance from her home outside Washington D.C. In a house populated by two tiny pirates and one full-sized Marine aviator, inspiration for her heroes is never hard to find—though quiet time to write often is!

social-links
giveaway
